TACLOBAN CITY – In a simple but meaningful Salamat-Mabuhay Program on 07 July 2022, the National Maritime Polytechnic (NMP) paid tribute to former Executive Director Joel B. Maglunsod at the Sophia’s Way Event Center, City Central Park, Sagkahan, Tacloban City.

Through the program the legacy of ED Maglunsod was celebrated. Reminiscing his 3 years and 4 months of invaluable service and leadership, an audio-visual presentation was shown cherishing the various events, places and faces during his stint at NMP.

A plaque of Service Award was also conferred in recognition of ED Maglunsod’s commitment, dedicated and invaluable government service, proactive and visionary leadership, resulting in the attainment of the NMP’s objectives, goals and organizational outcomes and a remarkable dent in the maritime industry.

Moreover, heartfelt messages also poured in as NMP employees presented tokens of appreciation and shared best wishes to ED Maglunsod.

The activity was attended by DOLE RO 8 Regional Director Henry John S. Jalbuena who also disclosed some of his fond memories with the honoree. Also, in attendance were other members of the DOLE 8 Regional Coordinating Council namely: OIC – Regional Director Ma. Evangelina Veloso-Filamor and Ms. Katrina Obejera of Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA); Atty. Michelle Basal of Employees’ Compensation Commission (ECC); Atty. Marie Ronette Barreda-Campo of Regional Tripartite Wages and Productivity Board (RTWPB 8) ; and Engr. Maria Elena Diez of Occupational Safety and Health Center (OSHC).

In his message, ED Maglunsod extended his deepest gratitude to everyone. “I am grateful for the opportunity to be of service to the Filipino seafarers for three (3) years and four (4) months. I thank all the employees, Job Order Workers (JOWs), guest lecturers and assessors for the valuable support extended during my term. Thank you also to the DOLE leadership for the guidance and support in all the NMP’s endeavors”, he expressed.

ED Maglunsod concludes his term following the issuance of Memorandum Circular No. 1 dated 30 June 2022 from the Office of the President declaring vacant all positions held by all presidential appointees effective noontime of 30 June 2022.